You are here

Inuvialuit Lands

Located in Canada's western Arctic, the Inuvialuit Settlement Region (ISR) refers to the area covered under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA). The ISR was designated in 1984 in the IFA for the Inuvialuit people by the Government of Canada.

Covering the entire northern portion of the Northwest Territories, the ISR spans 1,172,749 square kilometres and includes several subregions, such as the Beaufort Sea, the Mackenzie River delta, the Yukon North Slope and the western Canadian Arctic islands. The ISR includes both Inuvialuit private lands and Territorial lands.

In 2015, the estimated population of the ISR was 5,700 people, of which 3,300 are Inuvialuit. Of the six communities in the ISR, all are located in the Northwest Territories. There are no communities in the Yukon North Slope.

    Submit a Land Use Application

    Learn about the Inuvialuit Land Administration