You are here

Inuvialuit Land Administration Commission

The Inuvialuit Land Administration Commission (ILAC) is a committee appointed by the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (IRC) Board. ILAC is responsible for policy development regarding the use of Inuvialuit private lands and is the appeals body for land use and permitting decisions made by the Inuvialuit Land Administration (ILA).  

When issues arise concerning Inuvialuit private lands, members of the commission serve as the liason between members of their community and ILA.

ILAC sets the standard of care that Inuvialuit will require of industry and others when carrying out activities on Inuvialuit lands. This is accomplished through the development of appropriate land management policies and regulations for recommendation to the IRC Board.

The commission is comprised of a chief commissioner and representative community members. The commission meets four times per year.

ILAC Members 2016

TBA - Chief Commissioner
Dean (Manny) Arey - Aklavik member
Hank Rogers Sr. - Inuvik member
Bobby Ruben - Paulatuk member
Joe Kudlak - Sachs Harbour member Lennie Emaghok - Tuktoyaktuk member
David Kuptana - Ulukhaktok member